don’t wait

don’t wait, don’t wait
the lights will flash and fade away
the days will pass you by, so don’t wait
to lay your armour down
don’t wait by dashboard confessional

i haven’t put on my running shoes for quite awhile now. for some reason, i just have not found the enthusiasm to go outside and let my blood rush through my body a little faster. it’s not like me to say no to adrenaline, especially if it’s adrenaline that doesn’t involve free falling.

but today, with its suffocating humidity – i can almost hear the damp soaking through the air – i took a look at the heavy skies outside my window and decided that it’s time to let my legs carry me through more than just another doorway. i felt the need to get drenched. if the rain comes, i’ll revel in it. if it doesn’t, i’ll save my rain dance for another day.

as i turned my trusty source of music on, the song playing spoke to me in a way i had never heard before. the road is now a sudden sea and suddenly you’re deep enough to lay your armour down. lay your armour down. lay your armour down.

for a moment, i stretched out my arms and felt drops of impatience fall on me. life is passing by me and yet i’m still not there. 3 years more till graduation. 5 more years to competency. millions of seconds more till actual healing comes from my hands.

lay my armour down.

i need to do more rain dances and listen more closely to the Voice that loves me. i need to run through stagnant air and breathe the moisture that creeps through my pores. i need to stop waiting and strip myself bare of everything save what constitutes my being.

there will never be a better time.

Leave a Reply

