rolling stone

there have been many instances in my life where i’ve been forced to uproot before i’ve really settled in. there was the time when i left hong kong and began a painful reintegration into the malaysian education system. then the time when my parents put me in a school that almost none of my primary school friends went to. after that came singapore. med school. clinical school.

and (hopefully) very soon…housemanship.

maybe it’s this constant moving that has led me to believe that there is almost no point in getting too attached to one place or a group of people. it’ll save me the heartache if we never speak again. of course if the relationships persist beyond one phase of life then yeah, it’s a bonus, but if we become strangers after receiving certificates and awards, i wouldn’t shed a tear.

has this hardened me?

i don’t know. i sure felt vulnerable today.

Leave a Reply

